Fantasy - Epic

A Wicked Wind. Book Two of the Archanium Codex Series

Category:Fantasy - Epic

Author:Nicholas McIntire

  • Publisher: Black Dove Press, LLC
  • Publication Date: September 20, 2021
  • Number of Pages: 681
  • ISBN-10: 1-8491733-4-2
  • ISBN-13: 978-1-7338491-4-2

The fall of Kalinor has affected the entire realm, but Prince Jonas Belgi is engulfed in an entirely separate war in Ilyar. He has to come face to face with powerful forces who are working to destroy him. His battle has affected all lives, and even Belgi's Hunter, Aleksei Drago, thinks he won't survive. With a civil war and Belgi trying to escape his own prison, Aleksei has to choose between his homeland and what his heart is telling him to do. He is confronted with an indestructible, invisible creature threatening the refugees who are finding shelter away from the rebel soldiers. The Zra-Uul's rebellion requires Aleksei to command the last remnants of the Legion while constantly keeping an eye out for the evil creature intending to harm him and Jonas Belgi.

A Wicked Wind by Nicholas McIntire is the second book in the Archanium Codex series, and it stands out in terms of plot and superior storytelling craft. It is twisty, brimming with intrigue, and it features a conflict that is explored at multiple levels. The author successfully creates a world that readers will want to explore; it is complex and has its own well-imagined history and culture, and a geography that allows roads and hills and mountains to take a place in the imagination of the reader. Fans of dark magic, action-packed narratives, and adventure will adore A Wicked Wind. The story brilliantly articulates strong themes of friendship, loyalty, courage, brotherhood, resilience, and magic. The many layers meld to create a mature and enticing story.

Reviewed By: Matthew Novak

Reviewed Date: February 22, 2022

Category: Fantasy - Epic

Sci-Fi & Fantasy